Project Description

Jubilé, 2019

FUNCTION: Formerly single-family house divided in 4 apartments

M²: 490

LOCATION: Saint-Jans-Molenbeek

A major renovation of an old mansion, subdivided into 4 apartments (including 1 duplex) with underground cellars and a garden for the ground floor apartment. The other apartments each have their own balcony. The highest located (duplex) apartment has a roof terrace.

The historic character of the house has been preserved with great respect. The street facade (roof included) has been completely renovated. Hereby all the exterior joinery was copied identically.

With the same concern for aesthetics and historical importance, certain high-quality architectural elements have been preserved and renovated to the maximum. Among other things, old parquet floors, cast iron radiators, moldings, ironwork and chimneys.

The uninhabitable attic (with its large velux) is now part of a duplex apartment. Hereby the old light shaft (which gave natural light to the stairwell) has been replaced and simulated in an identical manner by means of. artificial light.

All these interventions have been carried out with constant care and respect for the historic character of this house.

Character & Historical

Project Description

Jubilé, 2019

PROGRAMME: Ancienne maison de maître divisée en 4 appartements

M²: 490

LOCALISATION: Molenbeek-Saint-Jean

Une rénovation lourde d’une ancienne maison de maître, actuellement divisée en quatre appartements (dont 1 duplex) avec des caves en sous-sol et d’une cour arrière pour l’appartement du rez-de-chaussée. Les autres appartements ont chacun leur propre balcon. L’appartement le plus élevé (duplex) a une terrasse sur un toit.

Le caractère historique de cette maison a été respectueusement conservé. La façade à rue (y compris la toiture) a été entièrement rénovée. Toutes les menuiseries extérieures ont été refaites à l’identique.

Dans le même souci esthétique et importance historique, certains éléments architecturaux de qualité et de valeur ont été conservés au maximum puis rénovés. Entre autres, d’anciens parquets, radiateurs en fonte, moulures, ferronneries et cheminées.

Le grenier inhabitable (avec ses grands velux) fait actuellement partie de l’appartement duplex. Ayant servi d’ancien puit de lumière (d’où parvenait la lumière naturelle dans la cage d’escalier), ce dernier a été remplacé et reproduit à l’identique au moyen d’un éclairage artificiel.

Toutes ces interventions ont été exécutées soigneusement et dans un souci constant de respect du caractère historique de cette maison.

Caractère & Historique